The Village of Great Stanmore, in the county of Middlesex, has had a rich history down the ages. The name Stanmore, is derived from the Old English stan means stony mere or pool. There are outcrops of gravel on the clay soil here and the mere is most likely to have been one of the Stanmore ponds, which still exist to the present day.
Entries in the The Domesday Survey refer to manors called Stanmere, owned by Robert Count of Mortain (William the Conqerors half brother and landowner) and Stanmera owned by Roger de Rames.
By 1574 The Count of Mortains lands became known as "Great Stanmore" whilst Stanmera became "Little Stanmore".